Freakin’ Pregnant!!!

December 13th I got home from work and prepared to take a shower before heading to our good friend’s for dinner. I was “late” – about 10 days late. I had taken two tests and they both said negative. I didn’t feel pregnant, not tired, not sore, all my favorite foods still tasted great. Now, pregnancy tests are not cheap – so after the first two negatives I was putting off taking another one to save the $20.99 but this night I went for it. I casually took the test and prepared for another negative. I set it down on the counter and got ready for my shower. Then I saw it. Where there used to be one line, another now intersected it. Pregnant! Freakin’ pregnant!!!

Zach was in the other room teaching piano, so I slapped my hand over my mouth, repeated “holy crap, holy crap,” and stared in the mirror for about 4 minutes. Yep, just stared. I would like to say what followed was pretty or classy or all those things you imagine it will be when finding out you are pregnant, but it wasn’t. One minute I was 16 and pregnant and having a heart attack, and the next I was jumping up and down filled with joy. Then I cried, then took another test, then jumped around again, then sobbed, then another test, then talked to myself in the mirror. I probably re-read the instructions about 8 times because I was sure I read it wrong and that +  meant NOT pregnant (that makes sense right?).  It was not the kodak moment I have always imagined. It is a lot finding out you are pregnant. In one second my path changed, my mind shifted, our house, our year, everything was different. Good different. Scary different.

IMG_5470

I had to wait another couple hours to tell Zach since he was teaching piano. I took some photos of the tests and my flat belly (bye bye) and freaked out in our room for another hour. I was literally going insane with happiness and nerves. Let me also include that this shouldn’t have come as such a surprise to me. We were not really avoiding getting pregnant. We knew what was coming, but it is a whole other story when it actually happens.

I had known for a while how I wanted to tell Zach: We have this chalkboard in our house. On it is a little family portrait that Zach once drew. It’s me, him and Padmé. I love our little chalkboard family portrait, and I knew with a couple minor alterations it would be the perfect way to tell him. I found some chalk and waited for him to finish working. He went to the washroom and I quickly drew a little belly on the stick figure of myself.

2012-12-14 10.23.09 copy

I waited until Zach came back into the living room and asked if he noticed anything different. It took him a while but then…he saw it.

He was everything I ever wanted him to be. Excited, tearful super manly, calming, reassuring. He was over the moon and still is.

We are so excited to start this journey together. Thanks so much for reading and following along. We are a million different emotions right now and are trying our best to just enjoy, take in and document every minute.

IMG_6383

Love – B

4 thoughts on “Freakin’ Pregnant!!!

  1. I love this and look for to reading every update!! You two will be terrific parents, Its actually really easy. You just take everything you liked about your parents and then subtract all the stuff you didn’t like. Once you have that all figured out this incredible self minded child is going to wreak havoc on your best laid plans. That’s when the great parenting comes in….how well do you think on your feet?? My advice to you is always show your love and make sure no matter what they know they can trust you above everyone else. Those two things will keep the doors of communication open both ways. You really will be great parents!!!

  2. Britt read every word of this – loved it. Thanks for posting this. You guys are so awesome and now a baby – couldn’t be happier for you and very happy for both Moms!! xxoo

  3. Cannot wait to read this every week, makes me feel like your here with me and Im not missing anything!! Funniest thing about reading ” Freaking Pregnant” is that I can actually see you chanting “Holy Crap, Holy Crap” and reading the instructions because you got the “one” test that the + sign actually means your NOT pregnant!! and……I had exactally the same reaction all those years ago!!! I think I read the instructions 100 times!! lol

    I came across this and wanted to share…

    Dear Baby Havens
    By the time you read this you will be a big boy/ Big Girl
    I know you will be kind, funny, wise, sensitive, interesting, and a ball of fire!
    Your parents are all of these things.
    I know you will be strong and a wonderful hugger. Your father was and still is.
    I wish you happy, happy, days! You will have some bad days, yes.
    They are important so you can appreciate the good ones.
    There will be disappointments; I know you will be able to handle them.
    Gramma always says, “Life is 10% of what happens and 90% how you handle it.
    I pray you learn about humility.
    Please always let an outsider feel inside, and always, always, be kind.
    I hope you learn that honesty is the best policy, and that doing hard days
    work will always make you feel better.
    Be a loyal friend, one people can count on and trust.
    I hope you put all of these wonderful things you possess to make yourself and the world around you a better place to live in.
    Please learn about the “God Stuff”, it really works, trust me.
    You have such a wonderful mother. She will be the one to teach you all the good things in life. Remember how to play, for you are in for a loving time.
    I hope we will be close always.
    I can’t wait to see you. I love you already
    Gramma xo

Leave a Reply

