16 Weeks

16 weeks baby bump

16 weeks?!?! How did that happen? The first 12 literally crawled by and since we told everyone it has been the fastest month of my life. I’m still just trying to enjoy it and take it all in but I already feel like it is going to be over before I know it.

I went to a baby shower on Sunday and it hit me like a ton of bricks that that will someday (soon) be me. It was the first baby shower I have attended while pregnant and it definitely felt different. There are still moments all the time where Zach and I sit back and say “Woah, is this actually real?” I still can’t fathom the concept of a child, my child, growing inside me. My mind has totally been blown and my view of everything is slowly changing. It’s incredible really. It is like there is all this planning and shopping and thinking that needs to be done but the best moments are when I am just quiet and I think about the miracle, like actual miracle that a baby is. How on earth is there a beating heart within me? Not only that, but it only took a couple of weeks to make! A functioning, beating heart!?! Mind blown!

Okay on with the update:

How far along? 16 Weeks

Total weight gain/loss:  5 lbs (all that pasta!!)
Maternity clothes?: Still just my Old Navy maternity leggings that I am LOVING!
Stretch marks? No, been using organic coconut oil and sweet almond oil on my belly. :)
Sleep: Sleeping so much better. Waking up early am to use the washroom but that’s it!
Best moment this week: My midwife appointment and hearing the heartbeat again. (150bpm) also getting together with friends Sunday evening for a movie and snacks! Most of my “best moments this week” are probably going to revolve around food of some sort.
Have you told family and friends: Oh yeah, the cat is out of the bag.
Miss Anything? coffee, hot yoga, some of my old clothes
Movement: not yet, apparently it will be soon though!! Can’t wait!
Food cravings: Pickles, Kraft Dinner, peaches, salad, tomatoes, hard boiled eggs
Anything making you queasy or sick: rice, avocado, chicken. The chicken thing sucks because I usually love it!
Have you started to show yet: Yeah. Getting a little bigger everyday. It’s so weird because in the morning it’s not even there and by the end of the day I’m 6 months pregnant.
Gender prediction: I don’t know anymore. Lately all of my dreams have been about a baby girl but if all of my dreams were real predictions then I might as well go to jail right now. Seriously some CRAZY dreams happening over here!!!
Labor Signs: no
Belly Button in or out? in
Wedding rings on or off? on
Happy or Moody most of the time: Happy! Really happy!  
Weekly WisdomI had a girls night with some of Zach’s sisters and friends this past Saturday and all of them are moms and it was just awesome to talk to them and share stories re: kids/labor/pregnancy. There is so much to know and learn and I’m blessed to be surrounded by such amazing women who care about my pregnancy at all and are willing to pass wisdom on.
Looking forward to: Our next ultrasound in 2 weeks and feeling our baby move.

Side note: Thanks so much for reading and for all the amazing feedback! I created this little blog mostly for my family who live far away but decided to share it with everyone even though it kinda scared me. The response has been so amazing and overwhelming. It humbles me and warms my heart when someone who I never imagined would read this blog sends me a message telling me how much they love it and look forward to every post. So thank you, it means so much!

LOVE B

Found this little gem over the weekend and it has a whole new meaning now:

Psalms 139:13-16 For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them.

 

3 thoughts on “16 Weeks

  1. Thanks Britt. Read every bit of it. Anxious for the next one. I craved dill pickles and ice cream but not together!!!!!!! To this day I love them both. So happy for this miracle for you and Zach and yes it is mind boggling and hard to believe what is going on in there and that a baby can be formed. xxoo

  2. Really glad to read this today! I am missing you guys and wish we could be there sharing your experiences with you. So glad you have such a great group of Mom’s to listen, hear and share with each other. Knowing what other people have been through always makes my new experiences feel a little less scarey and a lot more prepared.

    I had weird dreams for all my kids too. The genders were always right! The funniest one I had was when I dreamed I had Maddy and she was a girl, wearing pink, and everyone kept telling me how much she looked like me. I kept looking at her and thinking ‘she doesn’t look like me’. She was a baby with her Dad’s head. Literally his head on a baby body, she had a 5 o’clock shadow and everything. LOL, and I just couldn’t get what everyone else was seeing.

    Anyway, thanks for the update. Hugs to you and Zack. Thinking about you a lot.

    Love Jenn xo

  3. Awesome to know you’re doing so well! I read your post about feeling your little one kicking for sure this time. Isn’t that the most amazing first moment to have, like, ever!?? I know I said I hated pregnancy but I will say that feeling those first few months of gentle kicking really is amazing. It’s more the later drop kicks into the groin that I resented. Hopefully you’ll get through this miraculous time without any groin attacking incidents, but if you do, I’ll talk you through it. First thing to know about future bumps or ‘attacks’ rather, is that it’s not personal. At least not from what I’ve heard:)

Leave a Reply

