Baby #2 – How We Found Out!

For my first pregnancy I basically thought I was the first person to ever be pregnant. Just kidding….kind of. It was just all so crazy and new and exciting and the whole thing had to be documented. Now this time around, I am equally excited but I remember feeling like not a lot changed last time from week to week so I’m going to be doing pregnancy updates monthly. Even that feels super ambitions as I sit here exhausted at 11:30pm thinking about how my toddler better not have another 6am wake up!

2014-10-13 16.46.08

(my husband  – the artist ^)

I’m (*checks Baby center app on phone*) 17 weeks so I have a bit of catch up to do but I thought I would start with how we found out!

Lets go back a bit. I knew I wanted more children after I had Dex. I also knew I wanted them to be close in age. But when you are nursing and your baby still feels so little it was hard for me to imagine bringing another baby into the family. My husband was totally ready, but I knew my body needed more time. I needed more time. Around Dex’s first birthday, I started to get a little baby fever. Then we started weaning and he started sleeping through the night and I wasn’t exhausted anymore and I thought “Alright, NOW we can do this.” I was still back and forth from time to time, but I was starting to feel ready. My husband and I talked a lot and decided that we would leave it in God’s hands. We believe that He knows what is best for us and He already knows what and when our family will grow so instead of letting our emotions/hormones/fear dictate we would just let go and trust Him. Well — God was certainly waiting for that “go ahead” (Not that He needs it.)

To give you a bit of a timeline here, Dex turned one on August 19th, we went away for our anniversary around the 25th and AFTER that we decided to start the (what we thought would be) long process of “trying” for another baby. Well – without giving you TMI the doctor estimates that I got pregnant sometime around September 1st.. soooooo super super fast….like first time fast!

I hadn’t gotten my “cycle” back the whole time I was nursing Dexter and even after we started weaning so I had no way of knowing I was “late”. I noticed what felt like period cramping around the end of September. I assumed it was my cycle making it’s way back.  Well – it never came and the cramping continued for about 2 weeks. At this point I am still 100% it’s my period. I heard the first one after pregnancy comes back with a vengeance (sorry, that’s gross) so I just thought it was super drawn out and my body was just finding it’s way back from nursing/pregnancy. I was doing makeup at a wedding with my sister in law on Saturday and she had her baby 4 days before me and was weaning and we got chatting and I told her I think my cycle is going to return because I’ve had period cramps for like 2 weeks. She pretty well instantly told me to take a test.

I bought one the next day (which was Thanksgiving sunday) and asked Zach if he wanted a surprise again or wanted to be there for it. He wanted to do the whole wait 3 minutes and look together thing so we did.

Evidently I assumed I was an old PRO at pregnancy tests (HA) and didn’t read the directions at all because we had literally “tried” maybe 2 times and I am totally, obviously not pregnant! I do my thing and leave the test on the counter. The test has 2 windows – one is the control and always has a line -the other (this is so confusing) has ONE line if you are pregnant and NOTHING if you aren’t pregnant (is that not weird??). I am an idiot and figured it was like a plus or TWO lines if you were pregnant and one if you aren’t. I literally made this up because I was totally NOT pregnant.

2014-10-13 11.16.44

(I know!! It says it RIGHT on it – but I was that sure that I was not pregnant so I think my brain just saw what it saw.)

After 3 minutes we went in and I grabbed the test, saw one line, and like a total know-it-all said “see..negative” Zach looked at it and for a second was like “oh. okay”. At this point ready to walk out of the bathroom and move on (because even when you don’t know what you want or if you are ready – when you take a test you suddenly really want it to be positive) and my husband picked up the test and took a closer look (thank GOD!) and it went like this

Zach: Uhhhhhhhhh………I think…….it’s positive.

Britt: *grabs test* No – one line. Negative.

Zach: No…one line..pregnant..see.

Britt: *Takes a closer look. Hand on mouth. Falls onto toilet.* “OMG, OMG, OMG, OMG OMG……..!!!!!”

Dex sensed our excitement and got all excited too and it was actually such a beautiful moment – the 3 of us all hugging in our tiny little bathroom. It took me like a week to wrap my mind around it. I had no idea when it happened and although it was so much quicker than we anticipated we are so blessed that it wasn’t difficult for us and that we have been entrusted with another baby!

2014-10-14 15.05.04

(Took a second – non-trick test to be sure!)

At our ultrasound we found out we were already 2 months along – which was great because no one likes the first trimester anyway ;)

2014-10-30 15.32.08

When people ask I never know what to say. It was a surprise but we also knew what we were doing and 1+1 = 2
soooo we really shouldn’t have been as shocked as we were. It was an amazing thanksgiving surprise!

Thanks so much for reading! I’ll be posting my first trimester update tomorrow!

Britt

2 thoughts on “Baby #2 – How We Found Out!

  1. Pingback: First Trimester Recap | oh baby havens

Leave a Reply

