First Trimester Recap

So I’m past the first trimester, but I thought it would be cool to do a little recap instead of doing weekly updates because the first trimester for me can basically be summed up in 3 words; sick, tired, HUNGRY!

2014-12-15 10.27.30

^ 14 weeks

It felt like my first trimester was only a month long because if you read my last post, you will know that we didn’t find out we were expecting until about 2 months in – which I didn’t mind one bit!

So far this pregnancy has been super different in some ways and exactly the same in others. It has been really fun to look back on my pregnancy updates from last time and compare details.

How it’s different:

Last time I had 13 year old boy acne for like 4 months straight and this time, I’ve maybe had one breakout.

Last time my nausea was just in the morning, this time it has been all day. This time is was also way more intense and although I never threw up there were waaaay too many close calls. I think it might be because this time I change diapers and seeing poop like 4 times a day is about the worst thing ever when you feel nauseous.

This time I had a huge meat aversion. YUCK!

2014-12-04 16.48.15

^ must sleep!

This time I’m craving more citrus/sweet/cold/fresh things, last time it was all pasta and the saltiest things I could get my hands on. Seriously, all I wanted all day was salami (?!?!)

I don’t think I have mentioned it on the blog before, and I’m even a little uncomfortable mentioning it now but, the biggest difference is last time I had (I didn’t even know this was  a thing) pre-natal depression (also called Antenatal depression). I literally got punched in the face with hormones and felt so down and depressed all the time. I know pregnancy brings about a lot of hormones and emotional changes for everyone but I could tell this was something different. I would get so emotional over the most random things my husband said to me and have super bizarre thoughts about things like my marriage and my body. For example, I had gained maybe 3 pounds and I would literally look in the mirror and loathe myself and feel enormous (but in the second trimester when I had gained like way more I felt amazing).  If my husband said anything to thing to me (ie. teasing me about chewing loud – this actually happened) I would cry for like 2 hours and then tell him that if he wanted out now then he was free to go and I was prepared to raise this baby on my own – and I would mean it. I would see that as a real possibility. Like, what in the actual hell right?!! This was so NOT me and I knew it at the time but I couldn’t get myself out of it. Thankfully it passed on it’s own. I can specifically remember the day where I was getting ready for bed at night and I realized “OMG – I didn’t cry today!!!!!!” and then the next day I didn’t cry, and the day after that and I knew it was over. I thank God for my husband’s patience and grace through that first trimester. It was funny because this time around I could tell he was prepared to tread lightly because of the hormone explosion that happened last time, but this time is nothing like that at all. I was so relieved to not have to experience that. Until this I had zero experience with any form of depression. I was always someone who never understood depression, and even now I don’t think I grasp it completely, but after my experience in my first pregnancy I thought to myself ‘I kinda get it.” I’m a little embarrassed to say that  I was a little insensitive about depression before. You can’t just “be happy” or be told “you’re not fat” or “I want to be married to you” – you still don’t believe any of it. Anyway – I’ve never said any of this before haha – but maybe some of you have felt the same. In case you were also wondering, I didn’t experience any post-partum depression after Dex was born.

First Trimester Recap: 

Total weight gain/loss:  I think I gained about 8 lbs in the first trimester. To me it seemed like a lot, but I started at a much lower weight than I did with Dex. I think it was because of nursing. I still haven’t caught up to what I naturally sit at (120) before pregnancy/dex/nursing. I was also eating for like a full family of 4 in the first trimester sooo. I’m currently about 118 and counting ;) (and because someone always asks I’m 5’2″)

Maternity clothes?: None during the first trimester but this week (17 weeks) I decided I’ll need to go get some maternity pants/leggings. Thinking of trying H&M. What are some of your fave maternity brands?

Stretch marks? Nope – doing the whole sweet almond oil thing again. It seemed to work last time.

Sleep: Sleep was so good the first 3 months. I’ve got a baby who sleeps through the night and my bladder can still make it until morning too! I’m dreading this changing!! I slept better with a newborn baby than I did when I was pregnant.

Best moment: Finding out we were pregnant was in the first trimester so I’ll say that. I also love seeing my little bump and taught Dex to say baby and where his and my belly is. The dating ultrasound was also fun…seeing a little bean on the screen is the best!

Miss Anything? Hot yoga, and I probably would have liked a glass of wine over the holidays but nothing really.

Movement: Not in the first trimester but started feeling them December 27th.

Anything make you queasy or sick:  YES! Meat of any kind, baby poo, garbage smell, weird textures, being hungry.

Have you started to show yet:  Yes! I’m much bigger this time around. When you think about Dexter was literally in there 16 months ago so I think my body is just like “I remember how this goes, I’ll just get started now.” I’m about as big at 16 weeks as I was at 23 weeks with Dexter.

Gender prediction: Last time I KNEW! We didn’t find out but I knew beyond a shadow of a doubt that it was a boy. This time I have a feeeeeling but it’s nothing like last time. If I had to guess I would say girl but it’s still like 60/40.

Belly Button in or out? My belly button never went all the way out last time, but this time it’s already well on it’s way.2015-01-07 09.48.55

^ 15 weeks // full disclosure: I make these black and white to try to hide how filthy my bathroom mirror is. I don’t think it’s working. haha. I told you I was tired – no time to clean.

Happy or Moody most of the timeHappy! So much happier than last time!

Preparations for baby: We haven’t done much yet but I have some nursery plans. We will have to move Dex and decorate a toddler room for him too!

Looking forward to: Feeling kicks and Zach being able to feel them too. Also decorating a nursery and toddler room!

2015-01-05 09.42.05

^ today @ 17 weeks

Thanks for reading! I won’t be updating weekly but as much as I can and as things change! I’m also thinking about changing the questions in this update a little, I feel like so many of the answers stay the same every week. Any suggestions??

-Britt

 

3 thoughts on “First Trimester Recap

  1. I love love love you. Your honesty is SO refreshing, and remember how we talk about how when we meet in real life, it’ll just be like… “yeah, we’ve been friends forEVER.” I am LOL’ing at crying and offering for your husband to walk away because he made fun of your chewing loudly, for example. THAT IS SO ME. Did I have depression!? Omg, I didn’t even know that existed!!!! But it makes so. much. sense.

Leave a Reply

