Dexter’s 18 Month Update

This past week my baby boy turned one and a half! I actually feel like the worst mama ever because all week I was like “Oh the 19th is coming, he’s going to be a year and a half that day.” and what do you know, the day came and went and I didn’t even realize it. The day after I looked at the calendar and was like “nooooo”. Any one else literally not know what the actual date is on a given day without actually looking at their phone? haha Oops!

2015-02-26 17.36.02

2015-02-28 10.08.13

I wanted to do a little 18 month update. He has changed and learned more in the last month than any other time span before. I can see him turning into a big boy right before my eyes. It kinda makes me sad but, this stage is by a long shot, the most fun stage so far. It’s so amazing to actually be able to communicate with him and do activities together!

Here’s what’s new with Dex:

The good stuff:

  • He has started talking so so much lately. He will say almost anything we tell him to, or at least try anyway! My faves are “cookie”, “Barry” (his stuffed bear), and “breakfast” – and if these words are any indication on this kids priorities then I’d say we are killing it at this whole parenting thing. He has also nailed “Baby” and knows where the baby is – which makes me excited!!
  • He started saying some 2 word sentences this week! “Bye dad” and “blue ball” or “big ball”.
  • He hasn’t ever said “NO”. He’s never even shook his head no. This seems amazing but I’m also starting to think he has no idea what “no” means when we say it. More on that later.
  • He has become super nurturing. When with friends he loves sharing things back and fourth and making sure everyone has their cup and soother. Practicing to be a big brother I assume.
  • He knows lots of animal sounds. Dog, horse, elephant, snake, sheep, pig.
  • He started doing puzzles which is super cool. I mean as a parent, things like this just blow my mind. One minute all the pieces are out and I’m focusing on something else and I look up to the puzzle being like done and him clapping. Do you get up in the night and practice these things? (we’re talking like those big wood 6 piece shape puzzles here – just fyi, nothing crazy).
  • His fave foods are any kind of fruit, pasta, chicken noodle soup, oatmeal, yogurt, meatballs and cheese. His least favourite foods are anything other than what I listed above (heeeelp meee!)
  • He sleeps 8-7:30 and naps once a day from about 10:30-1/1:30.
  • He has FINALLY befriended a stuffed animal! I always tried to get him to take to one in the past but he usually just wanted to carry around a toy hammer or drumstick but now (not all day but at bedtime and in the morning) he LOVES Barry. Barry is just a stuffed Bear I got from Indigo – you can see him here! 
  • He knows how to say “Show” and hand me the remote. Ugh sooo bad! He only cares about one show and that show is Bo on the Go. It’s a super strange show about being physically active, but if you even go near the remote he starts shouting “GO GO! BO GO!” And I usually give in, because that’s about the cutest thing ever.
  • He recognized the letter D the other day. That was cool. Every day it’s like he needs me less and less. I just see him learning things that I can’t even remember teaching him. I guess it’s the whole “more is caught than what is taught” thing.

2015-03-02 11.05.30

The hard stuff: 

  • He has become the pickiest eater ever. If it’s not fruit, carbs, cheese or covered in some sugary “dip” then he’s not touching it. I know this is normal kid stuff but it’s making me crazy. I almost feel offended when I make this big healthy meal and he refuses every bite! I am getting sneaker at hiding veggies in smoothies and muffins and as always getting lots of use out of our Baby Brain Organics!
  • Toddler discipline is in full force. It’s the weirdest stage actually when they cross over to being deliberately defiant. He used to do things all the time out of curiosity and that was okay but now I can see it in his eyes. Just watching me, waiting for me to notice him doing that thing I just told him 100 times not to be doing. Discipline is hard. You don’t want to (or even feel like you know how to as a first time mom) but it is so necessary in their lives. Dex responds so much better and is so much better behaved when he has boundaries and they are enforced. It’s just taking like months for him to grasp the whole “stop throwing food off your high chair” thing! AHHHGGH
  • His seizure! Ugh! If you follow me on Instagram then you most likely already know about this – I’m planning on doing a full post just to inform anyone because I had no idea these existed and after sharing on IG and with some other moms, many of them didn’t know either. Anyway – Dexter had a febrile seizure 2 weeks ago and it was the scariest night of my entire life. It happened because his fever rose too quickly and that is how some babies bodies cope with the sudden temperature rise. It hands down was the biggest LOW of the last 6 months but we are so so so thankful that he is okay and that the pnumonia is gone and we are all 100% healthy for the first time since before Christmas!!

2015-02-10 10.37.32

2015-03-02 11.08.27

(obsessed with our new soother clips from Loved by Sophia Claire – check out her shop here!)

What else is new?

We are working on Dexter’s toddler room and can’t wait to get it all together. We have been so on the fence about the whole toddler bed thing. I don’t know if he is ready and to be totally honest I’m dreading how it might affect his sleep but we will have to do it sooner or later. I can’t decide if it’s better to do it now, before baby, even if it might be too soon for him. Or wait until the baby is here but risk having TWO babies who don’t sleep through the night! Any and all advice is welcome on this one!

 

2015-01-21 00.00.36

2015-01-21 00.01.07

Dex you have grown so much the past couple months. You are wild and curious but also so gentle and kind. You have become so much more cuddly and I love our time in bed snuggling every morning. I love how you need me when you are hurt or tired. I love how you go wild when you see your dad and either immediately run away to be chased by him or prepare for a tickle fight/wrestling match. I love how things always need to be even between dad and I – if I ask for a kiss and he’s around, you walk right over and give him a kiss too. If you hand something to me, you will go find another one to hand to dad. I love that we are a little family. You seriously complete our lives. We ask ourselves all the time, “What even mattered before Dexter?, What did we think about and care about? Why did we want to make money and be healthy?” Because now those things are all you. You are every good piece of my day, you are more than anything I have ever sacrificed, you are the reason for every decision we make. I can’t wait to see you as a big brother. You are going to be the perfect brother and the best influence on another little Havens. Wild and funny at times, but so soft and shy at others. We love you, I tell you about 300 times a day (secretly hoping one of these days you will say it back) but really we could never say it enough. We love you, we love you, we love you so so so much.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Dexter’s 18 Month Update

  1. Leave him in his crib!!! lol there will definitely be times when the new baby comes that you’ll want and need to put him in his crib for nap and not have to worry about what he’s doing. I’m so glad we left claire in her crib, it was a hard enough change/adjustment having to share mommy that I think it really comforted her that nothing else had really changed.
    Good luck with everything!

Leave a Reply

