Elle: One Month Update

Everyone warned us that since Dexter was pretty easygoing, that our second baby would surely be more wild but my littlest love is calm, snuggly and pretty even tempered. Our month has been filled with amazing support from friends and family, Zach being super dad and spending so much amazing time with Dexter, me getting some bonding time with my girl, and the 4 of us figuring out life together.

2015-06-11 16.15.44

We named her Elle Sunday. It was the most difficult decision and unlike Dexter’s name (which we knew long before we even started having babies) this one took time. We honestly waited overnight to name her. We went into the hospital with really no boy names and like 4-5 girl names we loved. So when she was born, we loved all of our girl names so much it was really hard to decide which one was the most her. We sat there writing out all the options with middle and last names and stared at the registration page just going back and forth forever. We looked at her and expected to just ..know. But, to be honest, we didn’t “just know”, like at all! We could eliminate a couple for sure but we were left with three that we LOVED. In the end we went with the name we had liked the longest and had the most feminine sound because “OMG it’s a GIRL!!?!” To us Elle sounded chic, feminine, pretty and strong. We felt like Elle Havens sounded sweet and bright and also a little bit like a supermodel. ;) My mother’s name is Shelley and naming her Elle felt like a little “piece” of my mom. Sunday, we get a lot of questions about. Honestly, we just love the name. It has the best vibes and Sunday makes us feel peaceful and restful and cozy and happy. I know it’s a little a lot different and we weren’t necessarily trying to be WAY out there it just has a lot of meaning to us and now it suits her so well.

On to the update!

We left the hospital less than 24 hrs after she was born, which was great. It was such a gorgeous day out and Elle was so calm and happy in her car seat. She was so tiny that all those first time mom nerves about driving with a new baby came flooding back. Thankfully, our drive was uneventful and we came home to a clean house (thanks mama), pink flowers on our dining room table and a peaceful house. I was missing my boy though and even though I was exhausted, I was dying for them to meet.

2015-06-06 17.16.47

Dexter and Elle meeting went really really well! We were at home and Zach’s parents (who had Dexter overnight) brought him to us. We didn’t have time to plan or prepare anything but Dexter is pretty chill so I expected him to take it well. Zach went out to get him and brought him to see Elle and I in our room. He came in so excited and he was holding a pink carnation and I just about died. He looked at her and kissed her and called her “Ivy” which is his cousin’s name haha. I got some snuggles with him and we took some family photos and overall it was such an amazing moment. All of us together for the first time. He was so interested in her and gentle (which we’ve sense been working on).

2015-06-06 17.16.03

So puffy and so happy. ^

Some details about our girl. Her little girly cry makes us melt. It’s so surprising after having a boy for two years the true GIRL sound of even her cries. Zach aways calls her a damsel in distress. She is so so sleepy. I’m sure my memory from when Dex was born is a little foggy, but I believe she is waaaay sleepier and less alert than he was. For the first week of her life I legitimitely worried about her vision because I never ever saw her open her eyes.

2015-06-07 16.30.46

2015-06-11 11.07.55

2015-06-08 16.00.51

Our first night home as a bit of a disaster. We tried Elle in her bassinet but she hated it. I think it was being flat on her back (she’s crazy gassy and spits up a lot) and away from me but it did not go well. Desperate for sleep we let her into our bed with us (plenty of room, firm mattress, no blanket – and if you still have a problem with it then that’s cool, but this is what got us through the first couple of nights) and it went much better. She loves snuggling more than anything. As long as she’s touching your skin, she’s happy. She dislikes being changed, or passed around. She’s a pretty light sleeper too and the littlest sound wakes her up, but then she will fall right back asleep.

2015-06-10 15.33.382015-06-19 10.25.43Nursing has been amazing. I had such a difficult time with Dexter and experienced a lot of pain but from the minute she came out she’s been amazing at latching and I’ve had no pain at all. I even totally stocked up on all the creams and gel pads and what not and haven’t even needed them! While on the topic of eating she’s more of a snacker, which has been a little difficult. She eats a little, then sleeps a little, then eats a mini snack then a little mini nap.

2015-06-11 14.25.432015-06-08 16.01.52

We had our first outing about 8 days post partum. I was WAY too sore to be out walking around and I paid the price the next day but I was desperate to get out and Elle needed some girly clothes! We grabbed a couple onesies and sleepers and I think grabbed some iced coffees and headed back home. Β Seeing TWO kids in the back of the car was insane!

2015-06-11 14.34.25 HDR

2015-06-11 17.26.03

She also had her first time at church. I was all excited and had saved this adorable yellow dress with a peter pan collar and she slept in her car seat the entire time so no one even saw it…or her haha. Zach and I also got in a couple date nights with just Elle since it’s basically like she’s not even there.

2015-06-13 17.33.43

2015-06-20 12.47.58

So far our first month with our daughter has been heaven. It’s hard, don’t get me wrong, two kids in no joke and I’ve cried a lot of overwhelmed tears but having a baby again is such an amazing time. I adore the newborn stage and baby smells and baby feet and honestly I never want this to end. I am sore and hormonal and exhausted but I’ve got pink things all over my house and a baby girl who is healthy and lovely and I couldn’t feel more blessed.

4 thoughts on “Elle: One Month Update

  1. I loved reading this so much!! And what beautiful pictures 😍 I can SO RELATE to dressing her in the dress and no one seeing it. πŸ˜‚ I had the cutest Christmas outfit for Eli, it was plaid and had a Peter Pan collar as well, and he stayed in his car seat and slept the entire time. He even leaked poop all over it before I could get a good picture. πŸ˜πŸ˜­πŸ˜‚ I also have been meaning to comment (I may have…I can’t remember..) on her name. I fell in love with it the first time I saw it on your IG!! Love it!! Love her more though πŸ˜πŸ’—

Leave a Reply

